Finally! Proof Social Media Is For Business.

image

Twitter, Facebook, Blogging – it all started with celebrity news and gossip. A topic very unappealing to a small business owner trying to fit 28 hours of work into a 24 hour day.

I personally don’t care that Demi Moore may have hugged Ashton Kutchers body double accidentally on the set of his recent movie. I DO care about updates that affect my life. Who’s a good local plumber? What’s a local organization worth supporting with my time and/or donation? Is there a local hardware store that still sells the quality sleds I grew up with?

This article covers the topic I’ve been telling the small business owners in my networks for some time – social media is trending towards business utilities and away from the origins of gossipy celebrity “news”.

http://mashable.com/2011/01/13/social-web-participation/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+Mashable%2FSocialMedia+%28Mashable+%C2%BB+Social+Media+Feed%29

3 Comments

Filed under Digital Footprints, LinkedIn, small business

3 responses to “Finally! Proof Social Media Is For Business.

  1. I have gotten over 5 clients from what you taught me on Facebook and Google Places so far. Plus, when someone searches tax preparer, tax preparation, tax returns or enrolled agent anywhere near Cleveland, Ohio – my Google Places page comes up in the top 3! Before your services, I didn’t even have a presence on Google Maps. Thank you!
    I have stopped wasting my money on the yellow pages and coupon books and can now market my own business more effectively for nothing!

  2. Kathy

    Very helpful. I’ve been hesitant to embrace “social media” because I don’t want people to think I view myself as a celebrity or gossip monger, but knowing more and more content is business related peaks my interest.

    • Thanks for the feedback, Kathy. If you’re a small business owner, or could benefit at all from increased, professional, on-line exposure, I would certainly encourage you to embrace social media as an outlet for business communication.

Leave a Reply

